2015 NZ Coffee Champs wrap up

It’s been an amazing few weeks for NZ specialty coffee. All four NZ Championships held over one weekend and as a result – we’ve been all over the media with some superb coverage of the NZ Coffee Champions,  we have four new champions, and now we’re gearing up to take on the best in the world!

We were happy to see all our competitors have raised the bar even higher with their skills and knowledge this year. We wish all our winners – Sam Low, Meadow Fresh NZ Latte Art Champion; Nic Rapp AeroPress NZ Brewers Cup Champion; Kristiane McGregor Huhtamaki NZ Cup Tasters Champion and Addison Dale Huhtamaki NZ Barista Champion all their best on their world competitions.  We were also honoured to have Hidenori Izaki, current WBC champion and John Gordon, 3 times UK Barista champion, as emcees of our events.

From 9-12 April, Addison was cheered on in Seattle, at the World Barista Championship, by his own 2015 rivals- NZ#2 Sam Low and NZ#3 BK Kang, along with the rest of the New Zealand contingent. Addison came 19th overall, just missing out on a spot in the semis. A superb effort by our champ, who is already chomping at the bit to return next year and defend his title!

2015 Huhtamaki NZ Barista Championship Top 6

Champion – Addison Dale, Pure Cafe Co

Runner Up – Sam Low, Atomic Coffee Roasters

3rd – BK Kang, Return of Rad

4th Justin Baek, The Shelf

5th River Vili, Rocket Coffee

6th Alla Heta, Bell Tea and Coffee

2015 Huhtamaki NZ Cup Tasters Championship Top 4

Champion – Kristiane McGregor, Coffee Lab

Runner Up – Matt Greenwood, Bell Tea and Coffee Co.
3rd – Sam Miller, Vivace Espresso
4th – Stuart Hargie, Bell Tea and Coffee
 2015 Meadow Fresh NZ Latte Art Championship Top 6

Champion – Sam Low, Atomic Coffee Roasters, Auckland

Runner Up – Louise Chapman, L’Oeuf, Auckland
3rd – Wayner Moreno, Atomic Coffee Roasters, Auckland
4th – Leo Li, Stanley’s Cafe, Auckland
5th – Michael Boyd, Monsoon Coffee Roasters, Auckland
6th – Jingyi Gao, Addington Coffee Co-op, Christchurch

2015  NZ AeroPress Brewers Cup Championship Top 4

Champion – Nic Rapp, Flight Coffee, Wellington

Runner Up – Maddy Hing, BeSpecailty, Auckland
3rd – Ramsay Gyde, L’Affare, Wellington
4th – Miyuki Azuma, Little Rascals Coffee shop, Orewa
Thank you

We’d like to say a huge thanks to all our sponsors who made NZ Coffee Champs possible, our volunteers, especially team leaders Theresa Mumford and Lawry Trewavas who worked tirelessly ALL weekend. Huge thanks to Michael CY Park , our photographer who was so giving of his time and his amazing skills with a sharp eye and a lens. Thanks to Tom Handiside and the La Marzocco team who did a fantastic job bringing some amazing coffee to the masses at Caffeination, in partnership with our member companies and the NZ Barista Guild.

The NZ Barista Guild held Coffee Classes too, which were a sellout. A big thank you to Paddy Kennedy and the class leaders;  Matt Greylee, Alex Hewitt, Adam Kyne-Lilley and Clare Matheson.

Keeping the crowds informed and entertained during our competitions were our emcees, to whom we are indebted. Funny and informative were: Hidenori Izaki (WBC Champ 2014), Nick Clarke, John Gordon, David Burton, Trevor Andrew Bradley, David Worth and Carl Sara.

Finally, to the person who brings all of these people together and is the cornerstone of the NZ Coffee Championships. Thank you Emma Markland Webster!