Meadow Fresh New Zealand Barista Championship 2019 – Running order and details.

The NZSCA ensures that the New Zealand Barista Championship is run in close accordance with the World Barista Championship. The winner will travel to Speciality Coffee Association, Boston, USA, 10 – 14 April 2019.
This year sees the Meadow Fresh New Zealand Barista Championship return to the theatre at Expressions Arts and Entertainment Centre in Upper Hutt.
Come on down and see New Zealand’s best baristas showcasing on the main stage!
New this year! Trophies and prizes for:
The Best Newcomer takes home a sweet $2,000
Outstanding milk beverage $500
Peoples choice (lots of cool stuff & a bar tab at Boneface)
FREE ENTRY and free parking for all spectators!
Free fluffies for all, espresso stand tasting of different coffee origins and blends will entertain your taste buds with all things coffee.
On Saturday, as well as performing, the competing baristas will be making coffee for the public!
Saturday 2 February – National heats 8:30am – 4:30/5:00pm announcement of top 6 and Best Newcomer, Outstanding milk beverage & Peoples choice barista.
Sunday 3 February –  Final 11am – 3:30/4:00pm trophies presentation
Expressions Arts and Entertainment Centre (next to H2O Xtreme)
836 Fergusson Drive, Upper Hutt, Wellington
Who’s on? Saturday 2 February, National heats:
The running order has been chosen by chosen a randomiser.
8:30am Abi Lassing, Ebony Coffee, Palmerston North *
8:49am Nungrutai Maneerod, Dark Horse Coffee Ltd, Paraparaumu *
9:08am Anne-Lise Monard-Stott, Ripe Coffee Roasters, Petone *
9:27am Bill Zheng, Mojo Coffee Cartel, Auckland *
9:46am Giancarlo Miggiano, Little Drum Coffee, Tauranga *
10:05am Luise Metelka, Flight Coffee, Wellington *
10.24am An Nguyen, JDE Coffee, Auckland *
10:43am Heesun Christina Lee, Atomic Coffee Roasters, Auckland
11:02am Johnny Leung, Archie Cafe, Auckland
11:21am Andy Shen, Interislander, Wellington
11:40am Nico Refiti, Ozone Coffee Roasters, New Plymouth
11:59am Danny Lee, Mojo Coffee Cartel, Auckland *
12:18pm Eddie Chae, L’affare, Auckland *
12:37pm Jeroen Grundemann, Bethells Beanz, Henderson *
12:56pm Takashi Ueno, Cafe Agora, Hamilton *
1:15pm Dove Chen, Grey Street Kitchen, Hamilton
1:34pm Bonnie Lam, The Coffee Shack, Wanaka
1:53pm Logan Collinge, Mojo Coffee Cartel, Wellington
2:12pm Michalina Sujewicz, Switch Espresso Ltd, Christchurch *
2:31pm Ken Te, Society Coffee, Auckland *
2:50pm Matthew Ross, Excelso, Tauranga
3:09pm Julien Nehemia, Interislander, Wellington*
*First time competing in the NZ Barista Championship
The announcement of the top six: 4:30 pm
Sunday 3 February, Final, Six competitors:
11:00 am Ken Te, Society Coffee, Auckland

11:40 am  Luise Metelka, Flight Coffee, Wellington
12:20 pm Johnny Leung, Archie Cafe, Auckland
1:00 pm Heesun Christina Lee, Atomic Coffee Roasters, Auckland
1:40 pm Matthew Ross, Excelso, Tauranga
2:20 pm Dove Chen, Grey Street Kitchen, Hamilton

Final announcement and trophies 3:30 pm-4.00 pm.
Then we’ll celebrate the Meadow Fresh New Zealand Barista Championship winner of 2019 at Boneface Brewery in Upper Hutt.
See you there!