New Zealand Cup Tasters Championship 2020

Do you have a palate? Can you taste? You can win this Championship!!
The New Zealand Specialty Coffee Association (NZSCA) holds the license to run the national leg of the World Cup Tasters Championship.
The Championship is held in strict accordance with the WCE’s Rules and Regulations. The World Cup Taster’s Championship will be taking place in Warsaw, Poland 18-20 June 2020.

Who is up to Cup?
Registered cuppers:
Kaiqi Qiu, Aoraki Coffee Roasters, Waikato
Daisy Dong, Aoraki Coffee Roasters, Waikato
Cameron Hoogervorst, Vivace Espresso, Christchurch
Takahito Koyanagi, Toasted Espresso, Auckland
Anne-Lise Mornard-Stott, Ripe Coffee Company, Petone
Sam Miller, Hummingbird Coffee, Christchurch
Veronica Maughan, L’affare, Wellington
Ewan Kim, L’affare, Auckland
Renee Cooper, Sublime Coffee, Nelson
Alan Bruce, Flight Coffee, Wellington
Taster 1, Ozone Coffee, New Plymouth
Christy Oakenfull, Ozone Coffee, Auckland

Megan Murphy, Mojo Coffee Cartel, Auckland
Bernadette Zantman, Mojo Coffee Cartel, Auckland
Richard Poole, Mojo Coffee Cartel, Wellington
Kazuki Hanyuda, Archie, Auckland
Krisse McGregor, Coffee Lab, Auckland
YJ Huang, Independent, Auckland
Lucas Sidow de Campos, Emporio Coffee, Wellington
Angus Lin, Story Coffee, Auckland
May Chen, Story Coffee, Auckland
Heesun Lee, Atomic Coffee Roasters, Auckland
Casey Keane, Atomic Coffee Roasters, Auckland
Giancarlo Miggiano, Third Eye Coffee, Napier
Woohyung Lee, Camper Coffee, Auckland
Jamie Brown, Camper Coffee, Auckland
Eric Sugandi, Flight Coffee Roasters, Wellington
Jassher Clayton, Camarosa, Hamilton

About the New Zealand Cup Tasters Championship
The New Zealand Cup Tasters Championship awards the professional coffee cupper who demonstrates speed, skill, and accuracy in distinguishing the taste differences in specialty coffees.
Coffees of the world have many distinct taste characteristics and in this competition format, the objective is for the cupper to discriminate between the different coffees. Three cups are placed in a triangle, with two cups being identical coffees and one cup being a different coffee. Using skills of smell, taste, attention and experience, the cupper will identify the odd cup in the triangle as quickly as they can.
A total of eight triangles are placed in each round. Then the top four will compete again in the final round to determine the next New Zealand Cup Tasters Champion.
Thank you to our sponsors: Ozone Coffee, AMC Roastery Supply NZ, Cafetto, Marco via L’affare, Acme & Co, Castaway and venue host Ozone Coffee Roasters.
New Zealand Rules and Competitor terms and conditions>
Find out more about the Championship and the Rules & Regs at
Please view the NZSCA ticketing terms & conditions here>

New Zealand Cup Tasters Championship 2020
Location: Ozone Coffee Roasters, 18 Westmoreland Street West, Grey Lynn, Auckland
Date: Friday 28 February 2020, 5 pm – 9 pm
Entry: Free for spectators, CUPPERS ENTER HERE>
Volunteer descriptions>