New President and Board 2023/2024

L-R Back row: Bob Weatherford of Havana stands in for Sam Keall, Roz Cattell, Steph Noble, Tom Handiside, Connor Nestor, Jason Moore, and Megan Wyper.

Front Row: Steve Jae, Alice Burton, Scott Pepler, Ken Shi

Dear Members,

Five new board members were elected at the 2023 NZSCA AGM on Friday 19 May, at Sherwood, Queenstown. Many remaining members were reelected. Thank you to those members who proxy voted.Your Executive team is:

President – Megan Wyper from Acme Cupco, Wellington. After five years on the board, Megan now leads this great team and will be allocating portfolios shortly.

Immediate Past President – Roz Cattell from Bon Accord, Auckland

Vice-President – Tom Handiside from La Marzocco, Auckland. Tom returns to the board and this role after five years away.

2nd Vice President – Scott Pepler from UCC, Auckland. This is Scott’s second year on the board.

Treasurer – Steve Jae from La Marzocco, Auckland. Steve has certifications in accounting and was uncontested.

Steph Noble from Ozone Coffee Roasters and Connor Nestor from New Ground Coffee, both from Auckland remain on the Board in their second-year term. Ken Shi from Aoraki Coffee Roasters in Hampton Downs was reelected for a third year.

Congratulations also go to the following board members:

Sam Keall from Havana Coffee Works, Wellington

Jason Moore from Vanguard Specialty Coffee, Dunedin

Alice Burton from John Burton Ltd, Auckland.

Thank you to those who stood up for these hotly contested positions.  We are sure that we will call on you for future mahi.

John Cole from Mojo Coffee, Wellington stepped down from the Board member after five years, as did Frank Hsu from Frank’s Coffee in Wellington after his two-year term. Shane York from Vertical Logistics, Auckland served his year as an Allied member. We appreciate their contributions immensely and look forward to seeing them at events in the future.

Roz Cattell from Bon Accord has sat on the Board for eight years, the last three as President, arguably during the most challenging and busiest in recent times. We won’t let her get away as she will now sit on the board as the Immediate Past President.

Many thanks to Nic McClean from Extra Shot Consultants, our outgoing treasurer who devoted five years of service and who proudly walked away with Lifetime Achievement at the Recognition Awards.

Thanks to the members of this unique industry who made this AGM inspiring, fun, and a celebration of coffee. After this last year, we are motivated to build a community stronger than ever. Our membership was constitutionally voted to change, we had robust discussions on sustainability and decarbonisation and we certainly celebrated our people.

We would also like to thank sponsors Sucafina and NZ Couriers whose contributions towards the AGM helped make this event memorable.

Full minutes available here AGM Minutes May 19 2023. We look forward to sharing a coffee in person with you soon. Our next Board meeting in person is in Auckland on Monday 7 August after the upcoming Championship events.

Ngā mihi

Megan Wyper

NZSCA Presiden